Share this on your social timeline!

Start Your Search

    • 16+ years
    • 12-15 years
    • 2-11 years
    • 0-23 months

    What Do the Different Parts of Hajj Mean?

    Friday 9th September marked the start of the holiest event in the Islamic calendar – the annual Hajj. Monday 12th September marks the second Islamic holiday and coincides with the 4th day of the Hajj pilgrimage – Eid al-Adha. This time of year is incredibly important for Muslims around the world, but it is incredibly important to understand what certain parts of Hajj and Eid al-Adha mean on a spiritual level.


    Tawaf is a ritual that occurs in Hajj and Umrah where Muslims have to circumambulate the Kaaba seven times in an anti-clockwise direction. There is a lot of discussion with regards to what performing tawaf represents.

    One belief is that the act of performing tawaf is incredibly similar to the revolution of celestial bodies around larger celestial bodies. So the act of a pilgrim performing tawaf indicates that they are a celestial body orbiting another greater body. This shows a strong consistency between obligations of worship in Islam and the natural laws that govern the universe, meaning that they all belong to one source – Allah.


    This ritual also occurs in Hajj and Umrah, and it is where pilgrims have to either run or walk between the hills known as Al-Safa and Al-Marwah seven times. This ritual was established by Muhammad (PBUH) but it actually has a much older religious significance.

    According to the Quran, Ibrahim was ordered to leave his wife and son, Hagar and Ismail, in the desert of Makkah. In a search for water, Hagar ran between two hills (Al-Safa and Al-Marwah) seven times.

    Rami al-Jamarat

    This marks the start of the Islamic religious holiday known as Eid al-Adha. During the Hajj, this event is known as the ‘Stoning of the Devil’. The ritual consists of throwing stones or pebbles at three walls, previously known as pillars, in the city of Mina.

    The ritual serves as a symbolic reenactment of the Hajj performed by Ibrahim. The pillars represent the devil where each pillar indicates a specific temptation:

    • The first, and largest, pillar represents the devil’s temptation of Ibrahim against sacrificing Ismail
    • The second pillar represents the devil’s temptation of Hagar to induce her to stop him
    • The third pillar represents the devil’s temptation of Ismail to avoid being sacrificed

    The throwing of the pebbles represents the severe disapproval of these temptations and, thus, leading to the disappearance/cleansing of the devil.


    This year’s Hajj pilgrimage has already started but that doesn’t mean you can’t prepare for the pilgrimage next year. Here at, we are here to help you prepare for an unforgettable trip to Makkah. From booking your flights to the accommodation will be staying in, it is important to get every aspect perfect for your Hajj pilgrimage.

    If you would like to know more information, then please don’t hesitate to contact us. Just give us a call today on 020 8554 7070 and we will be more than happy to help with any enquiries you may have.

    ACCEPT COOKIESTo give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies. Using this site means you agree to our use of cookies. We have published a cookies policy, which you should read to find out more about the cookies we use. View cookies policy.